WTF-Pinterest is Making Me Feel Like a Failure

IMG_0225I recently became a member of Pinterest.  I noticed a lot of my friends pinning recipes or wedding ideas or baby stuff.  I love to cook and decided I would check it out for the recipes alone. I had no IDEA how much stuff is on there.  Before you know it, I created a workout page, a recipe page, a hair and makeup page and then it happened.  I stumbled upon the holiday crafts page. There were entire pages dedicated to each of the holidays, chock full of crafts to do with your kids.  Valentine’s day was coming up, so I clicked on this cute craft that consisted of using your kids finger prints to make a card for their grandparents. This brought up all sorts of other “Pins’ on how to organize your kids toys, how to create behavior charts, practice lessons to improve their skills in math, english, political science and ornamental iron work. What the fudge is going on in this world? Who has the brain capacity left to be this creative AND to have the sense to write down the how to and post it to a website??!! Of course I appreciate the sharing of their creativity. I repinned tons of stuff.  My pinterest account is gawgeous, dahling. But it made me feel like shit. For one, between work and kids and parent teacher conferences and house work, I managed to do only one of the crafts for Valentine’s day (see picture) and I kind of feel like I half-assed it.  I don’t have a mantle like the mom on pinterest did, so I had to do it on the top of my entertainment center. The second part is, it made me feel very uncreative.  I used to be super creative. I made tons of decorations for my sister’s bridal shower and her wedding reception.  I used to make great Halloween costumes.  Now I only copy other people’s creations.  I am a copier.  I lack any originality.   I don’t want to be a copier and I want my home to look like the ones on pinterest.   I want my kids toys to be nicely organized, with their color coordinated behavior charts hanging right beside them.  Where am I going wrong!!!!!

After a few deep breaths and a large gin and tonic, I got over it.  The problem with my house is I have a pre teen, a pre schooler and a toddler.  My two oldest are boys. Nobody plays with the same stuff, my parents buy them anything and everything and the best organization system I could ever come up with is to grab a few toys every three months and donate them to daycare. As far as crafts go, my oldest would look at me like my hair was on fire. Unless it is an angry bird or minecraft craft, he is not interested.  The other two would eat the glue, or sniff the glue, or glue each other to the floor.  They would happily make paper plate masks, but if anything is going to take longer than fifteen minutes, they aren’t going to do it either. I am the only one with the attention span to do a craft, I think. Maybe I can make time for them after I get the kids settled and answer my work emails and pack their bags for the next day of school and do laundry and fend off my husband’s sexual advances. But first I have to catch up on The Walking Dead.

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
This entry was posted in children, family, motherhood, parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

