My reasons for living, breathing and drinking.

My reasons for living, breathing and drinking.

There they are. My family. My children. They grew inside my body and by having them, I allow a piece of my heart to walk around this planet. They are mine. They completed me and I need them as much as they need me. I also need a gin and tonic. Today, no one was happy for more than ten seconds at a time. When one complained, the other joined in. When they were quiet, they were doing something they weren’t supposed to be doing, such as sprinkling my pecorino romano all over their bedroom, which now smells like a goat’s ass, thank you very much. There were temper tantrums and they were mean to each other and I yelled at them and gave time outs and punishments, and finally candy in a desperate attempt at peace. It was a battle of wills and one by one, they caved. First, the princess went down. Then Quinn and I watched lullaby videos on youtube until he was so bored, he put himself to bed. Liam is the last man standing, but he got all of his complaints in earlier and is very happy to be left alone with his thoughts for the night. Right this second, they are absolutely perfect, because they are sleeping. No one is crying or complaining or trying to shove themselves back into my uterus. My ears are ringing from the sudden lack of noise in the house, as if I just left a rock concert. I look at this photo of my precious angels and I am overwhelmed with joy. We survived another day. There were no trips to the ED. Everyone said I love you before they went to bed and no one went down crying. I have half a bottle of gin in the freezer, so even if tomorrow is a repeat of today’s performance, I am prepared. My babies tried to suck the life out of me like the chupacabra. That’s ok. We are all entitled to a bad day. I suppose I should be grateful that they all had a bad day on the same day. I am grateful for gin and for bedtime giving me the opportunity to miss them. It may be chaos, but it is my chaos. Soon enough, they will be older and no longer need me as much. More importantly, they won’t want me around as much. On that day, there won’t be enough gin in the world. I appreciate them for sharing my life and am aware of how quick this time is going by. So my little chupacabras, I am ready to tackle another day. I hid what was left of my cheese, there are no cleaning supplies or sharp objects within the reach of little people and I took a multivitamin. Let’s see what you got!

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
Image | This entry was posted in children, family, motherhood, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

