Little people and their big personalities

IMG_0133I have posted a lot about my Liam and it dawned on me that there was not a lot of information about my other two jewels, my Quinnie the Pooh and my AvaRose.  I suddenly envisioned myself choking to death on a pop’em and my babies feeling  slighted because there is a lot of their older brother on here.  I got overwhelmed with guilt and decided to get right on it.

I love being a mom to three wonderful individuals.  Liam is at an age where he questions my motives, my intelligence, my cooking skills and everything else.  To Quinn and AvaRose, I am still perfection.  They still want me there all the time.  Quinn looks at me almost as if he is in love, but I am starting to lose him little by little.  He will be four in May and for some reason, there seems to be a big change in them when they hit that age.  He is at that “i can do it myself”  phase, which is good for him, but bad for me. It adds thirty minutes, easy, to our get out of the house time. It takes such restraint to not just do it for him, partially because I am a control freak and partially because I could get it done in a third of the time.  I can’t burst his bubble though, he is so proud of his accomplishments and he should be.  By summertime, I will have a full-blown pre-schooler on my hands.

Now sweet little AvaRose is only 15 months old.  She is very much herself.  As sweet as she is, if the boys aggravate her, she displays a horrible temper.  She is just starting to talk.  She babbles all day long, pointing and making sounds like a cross between the Ewoks and R2D2.  She saves her most loving glances for her brothers and for the most part, they love her too. Quinn has told us he doesn’t want to love her, but we catch them playing and I can tell that he does. She is so much calmer then the boys as far as playing and movement goes, but she is extremely dramatic.  Whether she drops her pacifier or falls and hits her head, the reaction is the same.  It is as if someone just set her on fire. I can proudly say that so far, I have made the least mistakes with her. The worst thing that we have done is allow her to eat something that is not ok at this age. She has had everything she shouldn’t because her brother’s share it with her.  I am just so happy they are sharing, I wouldn’t dream of telling them they can’t.

All things considered, I am really proud of myself. Sure Liam is an anxious, neurotic control freak and Quinn talks about his penis at least once a day to absolutely anyone and has a meltdown if I so much as leave to take the garbage out, but AvaRose shows a lot of promise. Just think, if I had kept going, by baby number ten, I might have raised the perfect human. Hey, practice makes perfect.

To me, they are all perfect.  I worry about Liam being so nervous and worried, but who am I kidding, he is my kid. He is just like me.  I feel terrible about that, but hopefully he will learn from some of my mistakes and calm down with age.  As for Quinn and his obsession with his penis, I have to conclude that he got that from his father.  He learned to not talk about it to anyone who would listen and I am sure Quinn will too. As for Ava, she is my first and only girl, I am bound to screw this up! It’s almost a given.  I just have to be the best possible mom I can be for them. I break up fights all day, teach them to look out for each other, because nothing should be able to break the bond between siblings.  I love these little people and I love watching them figure things out.  I will support them in their aspirations and hopefully guide them away from bad decisions.  They will be loved to the moon and back, for the rest of eternity. Neurosis, penis talk and all.

 

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
This entry was posted in children, humor, life lessons, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

