Sleeping beauties

I don’t sleep for more than two or three hours at a stretch. Ever since I had my first, I have rounded on the children several times a night. It’s probably part of why I’m so nuts. It’s exhaustion.
I walked in to check their covers, they always kick them off. I lean down to kiss my Quinn and I whisper in his ear that I love him. He smiles as if he hears me. The I walk over to AvaRose’s crib. Her chubby feet are sticking out from the blankets, her cheeks are flushed from being so toasty. They look so beautiful at this moment. This is a moment worth freezing in time because they are perfect and it is peaceful. If I actually had to go to the bathroom I could do it without someone crying at the door. I could eat without someone stealing half my plate of food. I could talk on the phone without someone pinching their sister. But it’s 3 am, so I will love them some more and see what’s on the DVR. Sleep well my angels, for some little heart stealer will keep you up one day.

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
This entry was posted in blog, blogging, children, family, motherhood, parenting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

