I SEE STUPID PEOPLE

I am always amazed at the stupid and/or downright rude things people say.  This applies to family members, co-workers and strangers. So many stupid and rude things have been said to me, that I began to take a mental note of what people say and make a conscious effort to not be so offensive when I am having a conversation with people.

For example, while at the schoolyard one Friday afternoon with my husband and my children, a woman with the group of people we were talking to says to me “Oh, you two are together?” gesturing to my husband. When I said yes, she in turn said “It’s just that you are never here.” That’s because I am in a magical fairyland called work four days a week. It is necessary for our family’s survival. I am so upset that I only have to go there four days a week instead of five. That leaves me more time to spend with my children and fools like you at the school yard.

While I am sure most people don’t mean anything by the assanine things they say, I can’t excuse them for it. It’s not because I am extremely polite, it is because I don’t question or make comments towards people I barely know. If I did, that would imply that I want to know them and chances are, I don’t.

Other intrusive questions or comments that have been made towards me are;

How do you manage three children? You aren’t going to have anymore, are you?

I don’t manage three at all actually, so I have to rotate one out at all times.  That is working out so well that I have decided to have three more.

Aren’t you glad you got your girl? Now you have the perfect family and you can stop.

I am so glad, God forbid it was another boy, I would’ve had to throw him down a well and keep trying til we got one with a vagina.

Why are the two older ones spaced so far apart?  Why are the two little ones so close together?

Oh so now you want to talk about all of my miscarriages, my struggle with infertility and then how I smoked pot one night and it loosened up my ovaries and we got AvaRose. Thanks for bringing that up.

How long are you going to breastfeed for?

I am not sure.  I saw this kid get off the kindergarten bus the other day, jump in his mother’s lap and proceed to unbutton her shirt and help himself. You might want to go ask that lady. Mine is only six months old.

Have you had him tested?

He’s three and he is a boy. I am pretty sure most boys his age are loaded with energy. Your daughter just showed her goods to the entire second grade. You are barking up the wrong tree.

I didn’t know you had a tattoo. You don’t look like the type that would have one.

What type of person has a tattoo? I would never have taken you for a judgemental asshole, but looks like we just cleared that up.

How did you end up married to him? Now this is one of my favorite’s because people mean all different things by it. Some people think he is too good looking for me, some people think I am too smart and classy for him. One person made the comment because he is a big guy and I am very petite. Anyway you slice it, it is rude no matter what. I can only say that my response is too expletive laced to post on here. The truest reason that I married my much older, clearly much better looking (lol), burly but simple husband is because we had a lot of fun together, he was the nicest, most genuine person I ever met and even on days when I wanted to kill him, he was the first person that no matter how hard I tried, I could not stay mad at him. Which pisses me off. So I figured he was probably a good choice for me.

Yes, all of these things and more have been actually said to me at one time or another, and I did respond just like I posted, but with a smile to soften the blow. The commenter never appreciates my sarcastic response, but that doesn’t matter to me. After the idiotic conversation we just had, I am not looking for a forever friendship with a doofus.

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
This entry was posted in friendship, humor, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I SEE STUPID PEOPLE

  1. heidibird says:

    This is awesome. I love the one about work. Some people 🙂

    • momonfire says:

      thanks. wait until i do one about the stupid people AT work. I work at a hospital and my job involves the physicians, a group of people one would think to be reasonably intelligent. NOT TRUE lol

    • momonfire says:

      thanks, wait until I do one on the stupid people AT work. I work in a hospital managing the medical staff, One would think that to be a physician, you would have to be smart. turns out, that’s not true at all lol

  2. claudiabette says:

    OH wow…now you have me wanting to make a list of the stupid things said to me! Thanks for this!

  3. misunderstoodmama says:

    I don’t have this problem. I just avoid talking to people! ha.

  4. This is outstanding. Thanks for the chuckle. I just think there are a ton of people in this world who don’t think before they speak. Also, there are just a lot of jerks. At least you’re keeping a good sense of humor about it – otherwise they win.

    • momonfire says:

      Oh you wouldn’t believe the things I hear. My favorite was a woman in the store to my girlfriend about her twins. She asked if they were identical. My friend say no, one has a penis and one has a vagina. It was hilarious

Leave a Reply

