Alone With My Thoughts or Lack There Of

Photo

My husband took the kids to the pool. Let me rephrase, my husband took Liam and his friend to the pool. The littles are in bed for the evening and the silence is deafening.  I feel like I have been submerged into a noise deprivation tank…… and I love it.

Friday is my day off since Liam was born. So it is also my busiest day of the week. It goes by fast, just as soon as I drop Liam off, it is time to pick him up again.  Today he brought a friend home too, so it was extra noisy and extra crazy around here. The quiet is enveloping me like a warm blanket.

The first thought is to grab that bottle of Bombay Sapphire out of the freezer. Once that cocktail is poured, what next? I can’t watch anymore news about the Boston bombings.  I am thrilled that they caught the guy, but if I watch it, more thoughts will enter my head about how the hell does something like that happen in this country after 9/11 or even after the first attack on the Trade Center in 93 and I just don’t want to spend another second being angry right now.

I could fold the laundry that has been sitting in the hamper since last night, but that sure as shit is no fun.  Besides, I need to do something I can’t do while my children are awake. I should go to the bathroom. But after that, maybe a movie? I need something that will occupy my mind so that I don’t occupy it myself.  I swear, I wish I could earn money by worrying. I would be a rich, rich lady.

I could think about what to do for me and Geno’s wedding anniversary next week, I would love to do something nice and have some alone time with my husband and the father of my three delicious babies, but money is tight and it is hard to get in the mood for romance when all this other more essential stuff is going on.  Plus romance leads to more babies and that would be God getting the last laugh on me. “You think you have no money now! Haha, here is another baby.” Not that another baby wouldn’t be delicious, but someone in this house would have to stop eating.

Maybe I will watch a movie. I can’t remember the last time I got to watch a movie from start to finish. Plus, I can actually watch something a little more daring than a film with a G rating. I heard Silver Linings Playbook was really good.

So I guess this is my buonanotte blog.  I am going to use this time to recharge my mommy batteries so I don’t snap and hit my husband in the back of the head with a frying pan when he doesn’t move fast enough.  I love my family.  My husband and my children filled a space in my heart that could not be filled by anyone else. However, absence does make the heart grow fonder and it is kinda hard to miss someone when the are up your crack all day.  I know all my friends in blogland know exactly what I am talking about.

Goodnight, peeps. Jennie is out!

About Jen

I am a working, full-time mom to three beautiful children, ages 9 1/2, 3 1/2 and 15 months. My blog is partly therapy for me, part journal of my children's memories and partly a source of advice or atleast humor to other parents out there in the big world. While my children are my greatest joy and accomplishment, I am trying to maintain my individuality AND be a great mom. I am hoping to do this without screwing my kids up. Somedays are wonderful and I feel extreme gratitude to these little people that have completed my life. Other days, they seem to suck the life right out of me. I try to approach it all with a sense of humor and full knowledge that parenting can lead to alcoholism and brain damage. Please feel free to comment on any posts and suggestions are welcome .
This entry was posted in blogging, children, family, parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alone With My Thoughts or Lack There Of

  1. Amber Perea says:

    I do this, too! I never know what to do in the evenings all alone. I usually will search netflix for a whole season of a series I have never seen (and will make me cry. Don’t ask, I’m weird) and get a little tipsy (it makes the tears flow easier, of course! Lol).

    It’s like therapy but less work and less expensive. 🙂

Leave a Reply

